John and Elizabeth Macarthur established this site as the Home Farm on part of the original 5,000 acres granted to the family by Lord Camden in 1805. They naturally called their grant ‘Camden’ and then ‘Camden Park’. The name ‘Belgenny’ came much later, in recognition of the aboriginal name for the site.
This site now contains the earliest and arguably the most important collection of colonial farm buildings in Australia. There are over 15 original buildings in the compound, the first being the Belgenny Cottage, now over 200 years old.
The buildings have been conserved as close to original and show the changing nature of the farm until its sale to the government in 1984. The buildings retain elements that are unique to Belgenny Farm and cannot be seen anywhere else in Australia.